Skip to content

Home network upgrade part 3

October 19, 2012

Switches, switches, switches!

People say the most stressful things you can do in life are get married, have a child, change job and go on holiday.

Well let me tell you this, I have done all of these things (some more than once) and nothing compares to the stress of buying a new switch for your home lab 🙂

After recently upgrading my broadband equipment (and finally getting gigabit to everything) and upgrading my home lab servers it was time to look at replacing my lab switch, a Cisco by Linksys SLM2008 switch.

This was a fine switch in its day but seems to have an electrical fault which slows it down over time (funny but the same thing happened to my BT Homehub and that had to go too).

Initially I thought I would just plump for a 16 port unmanaged switch and not worry about VLANs and trunk ports and such.  After some thought though I figured I wanted something “managed” that could do similar things to my old SLM.

After a lot of research I went for a Netgear ProSafe GS116E 16 port switch.  Now I would never buy a Netgear switch for anything enterprise but this promised VLANs and jumbo frames so I figures this would do me fine.  Sadly when it arrived I realised it did neither (it will “respect” VLAN tagged traffic but you cannot configure VLANs on the switch and jumbo frames are only supported on v2 hardware and I had been sent a v1 switch).

Goodbye Netgear switch you are going back to your maker as soon as I finish this blog post.

In the end I bought a HP Procurve V1810-8G 8 port switch.  This seems to do everything I want.  I would have bought a 16 port version but they don’t seem to make one.  As they come in around £80 I will probably add a second one in the near future.

Anyway, gotta run.  The post office closes soon and I have a Netgear switch to send back….

C

From → Home Lab

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

