Skip to content
Tags

Logitech Wireless Touchpad – Review

July 1, 2012

So my Logitech Wireless Touchpad turned up a couple of weeks ago, here is how I got on with it.

If you are reading this purely from the perspective of someone looking for a mouse replacement to help with RSI, forget about this product.  After a short period of use I was suffering the usual aches and pains; this is largely because you hand is in a similar “bent” position using it as it is when using a mouse.

If you don’t suffer from RSI it is a reasonable device but I found a few shortcomings with it…

– First of all the device looks nice enough but it doesn’t come with a carry case, which would be useful for those people wanting to use on the move with a laptop.

– The power button is on the rear, so if you want to use it throughout the day you will find it annoying to turn off/on/off/on again (for example at lunch time).

– The surface of the touchpad suffers from the same “drag factor” as the touchpad on any laptop. I would rather the surface was made from the same material as smart phones (Gorilla Glass) which I tend to find are smoother on your finger.

– Although there are left and right “mouse” buttons at the bottom of the device the lack of a right-click “gesture” is a little annoying after some use.

– Finally I found the device a little awkward to use when wanting to send the mouse from one side of the screen to the other.  With devices such as my Wacom tablet the four corners of the screen are represented by the four corners of the devices usable area.  With the Logitech however this is not the case and to get from one side of the screen to the other you need to slide you finger quickly (if you slide it slowly over the same distance, your mouse pointer will not travel as far).  I found this took a little getting used to and was certainly less accurate than using my Wacom.

So will my Touchpad be making an appearance on Ebay soon?

Actually, no.

I think it is a plucky little device and even though it has it’s faults it will find some use around my home.  This will probably be in the living room for web browsing on Windows Media Centre or perhaps reading long PDF documents on my laptop.  For general browsing and scrolling around, the device is very good.

So all in all I will give the device a 4 out of 5.  Although it has some faults the price is reasonable and I applaud Logitech for bringing out a pointing device that is a little different.

Now if anyone would like to send me an Apple Mac Book Pro and a Magic Trackpad I will happily write you a review….

C

From → Gadgets

2 Comments
  1. I was having wrist pains too from using my mouse. I bought a wrist wrest from Office Max for about $8, and my wrist has felt fine ever since. I would suggest trying one yourself, if you have not done so already.

  2. I have used them before but find these days I don’t need them, I only really suffer when I am clicking a mouse a lot. I do think this has to do with the move to wide screen laptops which allow for a bigger keyboard meaning your hands are in a better position when you type. Thanks for the tip though I am sure a lot of people will find it useful!

Leave a Reply

